Thursday, March 16, 2006

Seawolf Hall of Fame: Who Should Be Next?

Between now and April 14th the University is accepting nominations for induction into the Seawolf Hall of Fame class for 2006. UAA's athletic department began the Hall of Fame in 2001 and Dennis Sorenson was inducted. In '02 Brush Christiansen and Mike Peluso were added; '03 was Dean Larson's turn along with booster Chuck Homan; '04 saw Paul "The Wall" Krake added to the list and last year Pete McEnaney was the latest hockey player inducted.

So who do you think deserves a nomination? A number of names come to my mind. Jeff Batters? Brian Kraft? Tim Molle? Dean Trboyevich? Paul Williams? Derek Donald? Rob Conn? Anyone else that comes to my mind doesn't meet the 10 year criteria. Based on the qualifications they've listed just about any of those guys could be added. I can't say that adding any of those guys would disappointment me in any sort of way. But when I read they were accepting nominations the first name that came to my mind was Batters. Jeff seemed to be working his way into the lineup with the St. Louis Blues when he unfortunately passed away in a car accident. Jeff was a punishing hitter with a wicked shot from the point. He had good wheels and always played with tons of enthusiasm.

Who do you think should be next?

No comments:

Post a Comment